Back to top

The National Intelligence Community (NIC)

In December 2008 the Prime Minister, in the first National Security Statement, introduced the concept of the National Intelligence Community. The following agencies are members of the NIC:

The Australian Intelligence Community (AIC) comprises six government agencies with their own focus areas, operating in a community of interest where thematic issues often intersect. The AIC consists of the following collection and analysis agencies: